Return to Annual Crab Feed & Awards Dinner

2017 Crab Feed

The Sonoma County Democratic Party

honored local Democrats at our

29th Annual Crab Feed on Friday, February 24, 2017.

Each awardee was nominated and selected by the full SCDP governing body for their commitment to the Democratic Party and support of Democratic values.

Full PDF Program for the 29th Annual Crab Feed

2017 Honorees

Democrat of the Year

Julie Combs

Young Democrat of the Year

Chris Rogers

Roberta Hollowell Award

Helen O’Donnell

Trowbridge Lifetime Achievement Award

David Grabill

Elizabeth “Liz” Basile

Edith “Edie” Smith

2017 Sponsors

The 29th Annual Crab Feed Fundraiser was a success due to these top sponsors.

For a full listing please see the program link above.

$1500 President

U.S. Congressman Mike Thompson

CA State Senator Mike McGuire

CA Assemblyman Jim Wood

Tony Crabb & Barbara Grasseschi

Federated Indians of Graton Rancheria

North Bay Realtors Association

Organizing for Action (OFA)

Operating Engineers, Local 3

Santa Rosa Democratic Club

Windsor Democratic Club

$1000 Governor

U.S. Congressman Jared Huffman

Delaine Eastin for Governor

Julie Combs, Santa Rosa City Council

Maggie Fishman, SRJC Board Trustee & Bill Fishman

California Nurses Association

California Teachers Association

Carpenters, Local 751

Sonoma County Law Enforcement Association PAC

Jim Leddy

2017 Wine Hosts

We enjoyed delicious wine during dinner thanks to the generosity of our wine hosts.

Acorn Winery

Balletto Vineyards

Christopher Creek Winery

Jacuzzi Family Vineyards

Coturri Winery

David Coffaro Vineyard & Winery

Forchini Vineyards & Winery

Ray & Laurie Gallian

Hafner Vineyard

John Hawley Winery

Hook & Ladder Vineyards & Winery

Iron Horse Vineyards

Kendall Jackson Family Wines

Ola King-Clay

Korbel Champagne Cellars

Pedroncelli Winery

Pat Sabo

Sidebar Cellars

Singer Cellars

Sunce Winery

Toad Hollow Vineyards

Truet-Hurst Winery

United Wine Growers

Tom Steyer

Keynote Speaker

Sonoma County Democratic Party 29th Annual Crab Feed Featuring Keynote Tom Steyer, Founder NextGen Climate   Biography Tom Steyer is a business leader and philanthropist who believes we have a moral responsibility to give back and help ensure that every family shares the benefits of economic opportunity, education, and a healthy climate. In 2010, Tom …

SCDP Crab Feed logo


Democrat of the Year Julie Combs The SCDP honored Santa Rosa Councilwoman Julie Combs as the 2017 Democrat of the Year. Councilwoman Combs served on the governing body of the SCDP while also serving on the Santa Rosa City Council. Her Democratic values are evident in the actions she has supported on the council from …

David Grabill

David Grabill

The Sonoma County Democratic Party honored In Memoriam David Grabill with the Trowbridge Lifetime Achievement Award in 2017. Mr. Grabill was a fierce advocate for more local affordable housing development and disadvantaged members of our community passed away June 9, 2016 at the age of 74. Many of us interacted with him throughout the years in …

Edith “Edie” Smith

The Sonoma County Democratic Party honored Edith “Edie” Smith with the Trowbridge Lifetime Achievement Award in 2017.   Edith Cook Smith has been a fixture in the local Democratic Party for over a decade serving for the fourth district on the governing body of the Sonoma County Democratic Party, and within the Santa Rosa and Windsor …

Elizabeth "Liz" Basile

Elizabeth “Liz” Basile

The Sonoma County Democratic Party honored Elizabeth “Liz” Basile with the Trowbridge Lifetime Achievement Award in 2017. On Saturday, January 28, 2017 the Trowbridge Award was presented to Liz in her home during a gathering of local Democrats. It was blessing to share with Liz how much she has meant to so many over the …