The Sonoma County Democratic Party


We’re working at the local level for policies that benefit all members of our community. We believe health care is a right, not a privilege. We believe in a living wage and free public education. We believe that our children should breathe clean air and drink clean water and be safe from gun violence.


We support principles fundamental to our democracy…  a free press, an independent judiciary, and fair elections. We put people above profits. We believe in a common good, and an open and transparent government.

Civic Engagement

We believe in listening to people who disagree with us. We will show up, speak, vote, and run to protect our values and our democracy. And, we will not be deterred. Because that is what our country needs and how it was founded.

Sonoma County Democratic Party Officers

Pat Sabo

First Vice-Chair
Mary Watts

Second Vice-Chair
Val Hinshaw

Recording Secretary
Blake Hooper

Corresponding Secretary
Manny Baldenegro, Jr.

Larry Leonard

Standing Committee Chairs

Please contact the SCDP by phone or email to find out about upcoming standing committee meetings.

Candidate Search & Development Committee
John Kelly

Communications Committee
Millie Olson

Finance Committee
Bill Schauber

Fundraising Committee
Alan Ramey

Outreach, Advocacy, & Legislation Committee
Dale Axelrod

Political Organizing Committee
Ron Taylor

California Democratic Party Executive Board Representatives
Pat Sabo & Stephen Gale

Central Committee Members

The Sonoma County Democratic Party governing body for term 2017-2021. Delegates to the California Democratic Party were also elected for term 2017-2019. Below is a list by Supervisorial District of the governing body.

*denotes California Democratic Party delegate
**denotes California Democratic Party Executive Board delegate.


Jack Buckhorn
alternate John Kelly

Larry Leonard
alternate Beth Hadley

Maria Peluso*
alternate Logan Pitts

Charlotte Ruffner
alternate Manny Baldenegro, Jr.

Bill Schauber
alternate Brian Sublett

Mike Smith*
alternate Mary Pierce


Dale Axelrod*
alternate vacant

Elizabeth Escalante
alternate Cyprien Pearson-Du Toit

Janice Cader-Thompson
alternate Dan Ellencamp

Blake Hooper* (ADEM10 delegate)
alternate vacant

Iliana Madrigal
alternate Scott Alonso


Ron Taylor
alternate vacant

Jackie Elward
alternate Clayton Taylor

Val Hinshaw, Second Vice Chair*
alternate Debbie Dean

Miles Kurland
alternate vacant


Rick Massell*
alternate Rosa Reynosa

Alan Ramey
alternate Julia Donoho

Sandy Reynolds
alternate vacant

Pat Sabo** (Chair)
alternate Ariel Kelley 


Kimberly Burr
alternate vacant

Deborah Dobish
alternate vacant

Don Frank*
alternate vacant

Millie Olson*
alternate vacant

Evan Wiig
alternate Miles Burgin


Stephen Gale**
for Congressman Mike Thompson

Joy Sterling*
for Congressman Jared Huffman

Debra Broner
for Senator Mike McGuire

Juan Gallo
for Senator Bill Dodd

Gerard Giudice
for Assemblywoman Cecilia Aguiar-Curry

Chris Snyder*
for Assemblyman Marc Levine

Mary Watts
for Assemblyman Jim Wood